Paleo Nut Bars

I went paleo/gluten-free almost a year ago.  I was eating quite a few Kind Bars but they get expensive.  So I searched the internet for a “homemade kind bars” and ran across this recipe.  I’ve played around with it quite a bit and feel that mine is perfected (at least for my tastes).  Enjoy.

  • 1.25 cup whole almonds
  • 1.25 cup whole pecans
  • 1 cup unsweetened coconut
  • 1/2 cup flax seed flour/meal
  • 1/2 cup chopped dried fruit (cherries or cranberries are my faves)
  • 1/8 cup maple syrup
  • 1/4 cup honey

Optional ingredients

  • 1/2 tsp cinnamon
  • 1/2 tsp nutmeg
  • 1/2 tsp ginger powder
  • 1/4 tsp salt

Preheat oven to 350F.

Roughly chop the almonds and place in large mixing bowl.

Add roughly chopped pecans.

Add coconut, flax seed flour,  dried fruit, and any spices to bowl and mix with fork.

Place honey and maple syrup in the microwave for about 20 seconds.

Evenly distribute about 1/2 of the liquid by lightly drizzling and stir with fork.

Repeat with the remainder of the liquid.

Line a cookie sheet with parchment paper.

Dump the mixture onto the cookie sheet and shape into a rough square using a fork.

Using another sheet of parchment paper, firmly press the mixture into a uniform height cupping and pressing the edges of the mixture as needed.  Discard the parchment paper used to press.

Place the cookie sheet in the oven for 20 minutes.

Remove and let cool for 20 minutes.

Cut into desired shape and store in a covered container.

IMG_20130117_135805

4 Responses to “Paleo Nut Bars”

  1. alilsnip Says:

    Hey there, I typed paleo in the reader search and your blog came up. Almost a year ago huh? I just started a little over a week ago, did you lose any weight, any health improvements that you can brag about?

    This recipe looks delicious, thank you for sharing it. I will try it one day.

    • jopincar Says:

      I lost 15 pounds even though I wasn’t trying to. I’m actually gluten sensitive so the biggest benefit for me was really getting to enjoy food for the first time since I was a kid. I was colicy as a baby and I’ve always had a “sensitive” stomach. Now that I’ve eliminated wheat, things that I used to think gave me an upset stomach (bacon, bbq, etc.) don’t bother me at all. I wish I had figured this out years ago.

      My wife is not gluten sensitive but she started the diet too and she’s lost 45 lbs.

      • alilsnip Says:

        I am glad you are able to enjoy food without feeling sick now. And she lost 45lbs oh my god, thanks for telling me that. My hopes are very high, because that is exactly what I need to lose. :)


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

